awards & honors

Masterpiece Grant  Indiana Arts Commission 2016
Officially endorsed Legacy Project  Indiana Bicentennial Commission 2016
Multiple Special Event regional coverage Emmy®Awards: 
National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences  2016

Who's Who in America + Who's Who in the World      
2002 – present  

American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) 

International Society of Contemporary Music 
ISCM/League of Composers,  First Prize, United States 
Glossolalia for Chamber Ensemble, New York, 2000   

University of Michigan School of Music Faculty Research Fund 
Recording Grant, 1998-99      

University of Michigan Office of the Vice-President for Research 
Recording Grant, 1998-99    

Michigan Society of Fellows  
Fellow, Music Composition, 1996-99 

G. Schirmer, Inc.       
Spring is purple jewelry… Young American Art Song Competition Winner, 1996    

Schweitzer Institute of Music / Sandpoint Festival 
Fellow, Music Composition, Summer 1995

J. William Fulbright Program, Institute for International Education
Fellow, Music Composition, 1993-1994        

Multiple Dean's Awards for Orchestral and Chamber Music, Travel Grants
Indiana University, 1987-93   

Cole and Kate Porter Memorial Fellowship
Fellow, Music Composition, Indiana University, 1990-92  

American Music Center
Margaret Fairbanks Jory Grant, 1992

Indiana Arts Commission/National Endowment for the Arts
Master Artist FellowMusic Composition, 1990-91

Aspen Music School
Fellow, Music Composition Master Classes, 1989

American Music Center 
Margaret Fairbanks Jory Grant, 1989 

Groupe de Musique Experimentale de Bourges, France

Tragoïdia / Komoïdia    
James Aikman, Armando Tranquilino
1er prix, Prix de la musique électroacoustique à programme, 16e Concours international de musique électroacoustique de Bourges 1988, Bourges (Cher, France)

Carmichael Competition        
Classical Music Division, 1st Prize, 1987
Sonata No.1 for Violin and Piano performed by Joshua Bell and Charles Webb: WTIU/WFIU